Home > Musing, Public Speaking, SQL Server > Moving on from Microsoft

Moving on from Microsoft

Not too long ago, I handed in my notice to Microsoft, terminating my employment mid-June 2012. I suspect this is slowly leaking out on the Twitter and Facebook these hours – as is tradition in the connected world.

image

During the graduation ceremony at my university it was said that: “Life is a series of temporary relationships” (though hopefully not with your wife). Throughout my career I have taken this fact of life to heart. And I can, without fear of the future, try out new challenges.

After June 2012, I am going to take it a bit slow, and do some consulting. I will then consider which adventure I want to go on from here. Because I believe you have to live out your dreams of adventure while you are still young, and I have a fair bit of fuel left in the tank before “peak oil”.

I part with Microsoft as a friend and will be working on creating a smooth transition over the next month. My work with SQL Server will continue, just outside the campus in Redmond. After June, I will be available for some teaching and short consulting gigs to share my knowledge. Terms and conditions will apply and follow here.

In the meantime, I have made my CV available: About Me.

  1. May 9, 2012 at 18:42

    Wow Kejser, congratulations, I’m happy for you 🙂

  2. denisgobo
    May 9, 2012 at 18:50

    Thomas, good luck in your future endeavors. I hope you stay with doing SQL Server stuff, I enjoyed your sessions and blog posts

  3. jason
    May 9, 2012 at 18:52

    Best wishes on your new endeavour, Thomas! 🙂

  4. robfarley
    May 9, 2012 at 19:14

    You’ll do well anywhere, Thomas. We’ll still see you around.

  5. May 9, 2012 at 19:16

    Wow! Giving up source code access? I’m shocked and impressed!

  6. May 9, 2012 at 21:55

    I hope you keep blogging and presenting! Thanks for all that you’ve shared so far.

  7. May 9, 2012 at 22:52

    Good luck my friend, a new adventure awaits and no mather what you will always be the good old Thomas! 🙂

  8. May 10, 2012 at 03:44

    Looking forward to seeing what new heights you’ll achieve, Thomas! Thanks for adding to our institutional knowledge. I hope you continue in the same way, whatever your new adventures take may be.

  9. May 10, 2012 at 07:00

    Good and bad news, I am happy for you but sorry for MS client as me

  10. May 10, 2012 at 08:10

    Welcome in the outside world, best wishes !

  11. Thomas Kejser
    May 10, 2012 at 12:18

    Thank you for the good wishes everyone. I look forward to blogging and sharing more on this site.

  12. Anders Barlach
    May 10, 2012 at 13:28

    Best wishes you will do great work whereever you go, Thomas

  13. May 19, 2012 at 15:39

    Best Wishes Sir , No Doubt You really have great and Nice future ahead !!

  14. May 21, 2012 at 14:22

    Good luck Thomas. It was about time and you’ll do great.

  15. Thomas Kejser
    May 21, 2012 at 21:57

    Thank you everyone for your kind words. Most likely, I will first do some teaching to pay the bills. If this is something that has your interest or if you wish to hire me to teach at your company, please feel free to reach out.

  1. May 11, 2012 at 05:54
  2. May 15, 2012 at 18:29

Leave a Reply

